Its springtime. One good indication was the sight of fat purple-streaked, artichokes with the vegetable seller who was displaying her wares in Midan Tahrir as Tiffany and I were walking home yesterday, in the early afternoon. Another sign by the way of springtime is the changeable in-turns-lovely-and-sometimes-not weather. Anyway I saw the kharchouf, and bought a couple and here is what I’ve done with them:

images-22.jpg

Since I had about a glass or less of white wine leftover from Dad’s farewell party last week, I decided to boil the chokes in a seasoned liquid rather than simple salt water. So in went some salt, thyme (thanks Tiffany) a few pieces of crushed bay leaves some dried rosemary, a clove of garlic and a wedge of lemon into the wine… you get the idea – anything at hand was fair game. Brought the whole thing to a boil with some more water and then let the chokes (trimmed and halved) simmer for about an hour, maybe a little less. The chokes – well actually the ‘de-choked’ vegetable (leaves and heart) – are now sitting in the fridge, looking decorative, and awaiting even further adornment in the form of a mayo type dip. Which was made as follows: the cooking liquor was strained, reduced, and cooled. That with the softened garlic and lemon peel, and three egg-yolks were thrown into the blender and then I added a steady stream of olive oil to the blending mixture until it looked creamy. I didn’t have the patience to add the oil a drop at a time, but the dip actually thickened somewhat anyway.

images-12.jpg

The end results? Now since I’m off to a dinner out tonight, all of us will have to wait till the next post to find out the results, unless Maria next door (who contributed the eggs and got a dollop of my creation as a thank you for the eggs) samples it before I do and visits this blog and leaves a comment.

